Genius Hour Number 2

The topic I researched for my Genius Hour was coding, and more specifically, was working within unity to adapt and create video games. Unity itself primarily uses c# to code. So that was the specific coding language I had to learn. I also had to learn  how to work with assets and how to manipulate those assets within unity

I chose this topic as both video games and coding have always interested me. As a lifelong player of video games, it only felt right that I learn how to create the same things that brought me so much joy.

I learned two things. The first was how to code in c#. This should help, as not only does this interest me, but most fields require some form of computer and coding expertise. The second is how to work withing Unity. This not only taught me how to make at least basic games, but it gave me lots of respect who do it for a living.

This helped me grow as now I understand the full sweat and tears that go into some video games. It also gives me a greater understanding when using day to day apps such as Spotify or YouTube.

It helped me by teaching me how to code which will be a very useful skill to have in the world which is being quickly dominated by electronics and apps. Coding and jobs that require it will dominate the future job market.

How will what you learn in the next Genius Hour help the world, community, yourself, animals, etc. in some way? Explain.

My next Genius Hour™ is going to be on setting up a business plan for my future game store. This will help me by giving me a head start in my future (possible) job. This will help others by providing a place for people to come and buy games and comics. Also it will help people to come and make connections with others who enjoy the same thing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *